SC Topic 1) Fibers, Fiber Devices and Fiber Amplifiers

David Richardson, Optoelectronics Research Centre – University of Southampton, UK
“Optical Amplifiers for Space-Division-Multiplexed Systems”

David Richardson obtained his B.Sc. and PhD in fundamental physics from Sussex University U.K. in 1985 and 1989 respectively. He joined the Optoelectronics Research Centre (ORC) at the University of Southampton in 1989 and was awarded a Royal Society University Fellowship in 1991 in recognition of his pioneering work on short pulse fibre lasers. Professor Richardson has been Deputy Director of the ORC with responsibility for optical fibre and laser related research since 2000. He has published more than 1000 research papers and produced more than 30 patents during his time at Southampton. He was one of the co-founders of SPI Lasers Ltd an ORC spin-off venture acquired by the Trumpf Group in 2008. Professor Richardson is a Fellow of the IEEE, OSA and IET and was elected a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering in 2009. He received a Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award in 2013 for his optical communications research and was a recipient of the H2020 “Breaking the Optical Transmission Barriers” Horizon Prize following his involvement in the PHOTONMAP consortium.



SC Topic 2) Integrated Optoelectronic Devices and Optical Processors

Chris Doerr, Acacia, USA
“Integrated Silicon Photonics”

SC Topic 3) Digital Techniques for Optical Communication Systems

Erik Agrell, Chalmers, Sweden
“Capacity Bounds in Optical Communications”


SC Topic 4) Transmission Subsystems and Optical Network Elements

Nicolas Fontaine, Nokia Bell Labs, USA
“Components For Space-Division Multiplexing”

NICOLAS K. FONTAINE  is currently a Distinguished Member of the Technical Staff at Nokia Bell Labs working in the advanced photonics division at the Crawford Hill lab. He obtained his Ph. D. in 2010 from the University of California, Davis. At Bell Labs, he develops devices for space-division multiplexing in multi-core and few mode fibers, builds switching devices, and investigates spectral slice coherent receivers for THz bandwidth waveform measurement.


SC Topic 5) Datacom and Computercom Hardware

Benjamin Lee, IBM, USA
”Silicon Photonic Switching: Technology and Architecture”


SC Topic 6) Point-to-Point Transmission Links

Sergei Turitsyn, Aston University, UK
”Nonlinear Fourier Transform Based Transmission”

Professor Sergei K. Turitsyn graduated from the Department of Physics of the Novosibirsk University, in 1982 and received his Ph.D. degree in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics from the Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics, Novosibirsk, Russia in 1986. In 1992 he moved to Germany, first, as a Humboldt Fellow and then working in the collaborative projects with Deutsche Telekom. Currently, he is a director of the Aston Institute of Photonic Technologies. He was a Principal Investigator in 55 national and international, research and industrial projects. Turitsyn was the recipient of a Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award in 2005. In 2011 he was awarded the European Research Council Advanced Grant. In 2014 he received Lebedev medal by the Rozhdestvensky Optical Society and in 2016 Aston 50th Anniversary Chair medal. He is a Fellow of the Optical Society of America and the Institute of Physics.



SC Topic 7) Core, Metro, and Data Centre Networks

Ramon Casellas, CTTC, Spain
“Control, Management and Orchestration of Optical Networks: An Introduction, Challenges and Current Trends”

Ramon Casellas is a Senior Researcher at CTTC, his research interests cover network control and management for optical transport networks, including GMPLS/PCE and SDN/NFV frameworks and protocols. He has coauthored over 150 papers, 4 book chapters and 4 IETF RFCs.

SC Topic 8) Access, Local Area and Indoor Networks

Ton Koonen, Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands
“Optical Wireless Systems: Technology, Trends and Applications”